Stephen Lighthill re-elected President of the Society of Cinematographers – Deadline

Stephen Lighthill has been re-elected president of the American Society of Cinematographers. He was elevated to the post last year, having served as president from 2012-13. He will serve his next one-year term alongside Vice Presidents Amy Vincent, Steven Fierberg and John Simmons; Treasurer Steven Poster; Secretary Gregg Heschong and Sergeant-at-Arms Jim Denault, elected by the Society’s Board of Governors.

“As we safely emerge from the pandemic, we plan to continue to share our expertise on best practices for remote solutions and virtual production to serve the artistic process of filmmaking,” said Lighthill. “We also remain focused on recruiting diverse and inclusive teams, as well as supporting under-represented filmmakers through our scholarship and mentoring programs.”

Related story

John Rakich elected president of the International Rental Managers Guild

In a statement, the nonprofit said he and the board “have guided the Society through the difficult transitions of the global pandemic, focusing on helping members learn safe practices on the shelf and sharing these results with the industry as a whole. “In April, the Company released its annual Outstanding Achievement Awards, which were presented online for the first time and have been viewed by more than 4,500 people around the world.

ASC Awards: “ Mank ”, “ The Crown ”, “ The Mandalorian ” Take Home Honors – Full List of Winners

“We are following recommended health and safety guidelines and look forward to relaunching some of our in-person events later this year, in addition to reopening our historic pavilion,” said Lighthill.

Lighthill, who served as an officer and executive board member of the International Cinematographers Guild, IATSE Local 600, is also the director of the film discipline at the American Film Institute Conservatory, where he advocated for gender diversity at both at faculty and graduate levels.

He began his filming career for San Francisco Bay Area news programs and national news shows, such as 60 minutes. He embarked on documentary cinematography, working on numerous films including Give me shelter and Berkeley in the 1960s, which was nominated for an Oscar and won the Audience Award at Sundance. His narrative credits include television dramas War story, Earth 2 and Nash Bridges. In 2018, he received the ASC Presidents Award and received the Society of Operating Cameramen President’s Award in 2000.

Founded in 1919, the ASC has over 420 members in 20 countries and over 250 associate members from ancillary segments of the industry. The CSA says it “strives to fulfill its mission of inspiring the next generation of cinematographers and advancing the art of filmmaking through numerous industry events and organizational initiatives.” It has over 20 committees to facilitate this effort, including the Future Practices Committee, which assists and advises CSA members and industry on Covid-19 safety issues; the award-winning Motion Imaging Technology Council, which promotes continuing education on the role technology plays in cinematography; and the Vision Committee, which helps advance underrepresented filmmakers, their teams and other filmmakers. Other CSA programs include master classes taught by members; Clubhouse conversations with members and filmmakers, and the education and awareness committee that coordinates activities with film schools.

Here is the CSA Board of Directors:

Chris Chomyn
Curtis clark
Richard crudo
Frederic Elmes
Steven fierberg
Ed lachman
Stephen lighthill
Steven poster
Lawrence Sher
John simmons
Rodney Taylor
John toll
Amy vincent
Mandy walker
Robert yeoman

The alternate members of the board are:

George spiro dibie
Michael goi
Charlie lieberman
Suki medencevic
George mooradian

Source link

About Timothy Ball

Check Also

Here’s how to watch the March 2021 International Society Convention online this week

Update October 15: The above video feed has been updated for Day 2 of the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *