Illinois CPA Society Presents 2022 Outstanding Educator Awards

The Illinois CPA Society (ICPAS) has announced its Outstanding Educator Award to three accounting faculties at Illinois colleges and universities as part of its 2022 awards program.

Each year, the ICPAS Outstanding Educator Award celebrates educators who make a significant contribution to the education of accounting students through their leadership, teaching excellence, and active involvement in the accounting profession. .

“Our college and university educators are key influencers in students’ decision to pursue the CPA designation, so we owe them a big thank you for the role they play in supporting the talent pool upon which the CPA profession prosperous,” said Todd Shapiro, President of ICPAS. and CEO. “It is an honor to recognize the efforts of these educators, whose teaching and guidance is undoubtedly bringing positive change to our profession and preparing their students for success in life and work.

The following recipients will be recognized at the ICPAS Recognition and Awards Dinner on June 9, 2022 in Chicago.

  • Natalie Churyk, Ph.D., CPA, is the William F. Doyle Endowed Professor of Accountancy at Northern Illinois University (NIU) in DeKalb, Illinois, where she taught for 21 years, and editor of the Journal of Accounting Education. Dr. Churyk’s resume is comprehensive, citing dozens of awards, grants, fellowships, speaking engagements, panels, publications, and committee and board service. In nominating her for this award, her students have described her as an inspiration and a true passion for their success. Prior to joining NIU, Dr. Churyk held positions at the University of South Carolina, California State University, and Smith & Granstrom in Torrance, CA. She is an active member of the American Accounting Association, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, Beta Alpha Psi, Beta Gamma Sigma, British Accounting and Finance Association, European Accounting Association and Illinois CPA Society.
  • Paul Croitoru, CPA, MBA, MSA, is an associate professor at Wilbur Wright College in Chicago, where he has taught since 2004. Croitoru has dozens of board, committee, and community service positions to his credit, as well as several awards, grants, and other honors. In being nominated for this award, his students described him as having an authentic, down-to-earth style and an ability to simplify complex information into everyday language. Prior to becoming a full-time educator, Croitoru ran his own CPA firm and held positions at American Express Tax & Business Services, Employee Plan Administrators and Consultants, Allstate Financial Systems & Specialty Lines, and Environmental Law & Policy Center. He is a member of the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs, Alteryx SparkED Educators, American Accounting Association, Illinois Accounting Teachers, and Higher Education Tableau User Group.
  • Nadia Schwartz, M. Acc, CPA, is an associate professor at Augustana College in Rock Island, Illinois, where she has taught since 2006. Schwartz has served on several accounting and education committees and task forces and holds numerous awards for her work. Students who nominated Schwartz for this award called her a person who tailors the learning experience to each individual’s unique needs and makes all of her students feel seen, supported and encouraged. Prior to joining Augustana College, Schwartz held teaching positions at Bradley University, Illinois Central College, and Robert Morris College, as well as corporate positions at McGladrey & Pullen LLP and Land O’Lakes. . She is a member of the American Accounting Association, the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Illinois CPA Society.

About Timothy Ball

Check Also

Media are invited to the Acoustical Society of America meeting in Nashville, Dec. 5-9

Newswise – NASHVILLE, Tenn., November 10, 2022 – The Acoustical Society of America (ASA) will …